Aspies will have get jobs and work when they grow up like everyone else. Unlike everyone else, however, they cannot  just walk into a job without considering the impact it will have on them. I have taken jobs before without considering what I can handle, ending up in trouble a lot for making mistakes that non-Aspies probably would not make or for speaking rudely to someone (common with us because we don‘t always understand how brusque or even rude we can sound) or for simply finding the work environment overwhelming (and then comes the crying and embarrassment). It can take time, even years or decades for the undiagnosed, to figure out what the right job is for an Aspie. We all look at where our interests lie but Aspies must also take into account their sensory issues. It is no good a person who dislikes being touched becoming a wrestler. That said, I have been forced into difficult jobs from necessity and have done more harm than good. It is not your employer‘s fault if you have sensory integration issues, especially if you don‘t tell them (or feel you cannot, like me). The Aspie must take control of this matter, figure out where their interests intersect with their capabilities and work hard. Although it‘s not my dream job, I currently drive an electric train for my job. I spend a great deal of time alone … bliss. Noise levels are bearable and nearly everything is automated. I rarely go home anything other than physically tired – very little stress or social interaction required. There is a pay off but it works for me for now.

I would rather have lived then, despite the short lifespan.

