Work is sucking at the moment, and, as usual I don’t know if it’s for Aspie reasons or non-Aspies reasons: i.e. I don’t know if what I’m experiencing is Asperger’s-related or not.

I am being targeted for subtle bullying by a member of my team. I have discovered that he is behind two serious episodes of disciplinary action against me (for which I was exonerated both times, and supported by his own best friend), and had to be talked out of a third just yesterday. He is a severe bully and not just against me: he loves to pick on anyone younger or less experienced than him.

I cannot work out why. I also cannot work out how I should react. He puts my back up: I am automatically short with him and never engage in conversation with him. I don’t want to be around him. I don’t even want to look at him because – and this has nothing to do with his issues with me because it’s something I thought about before he started on me – his face reminds me of a corpse. Yes, that’s what I said. He looks like he is already dead and has been for a month or two.

Anyhoo, I have no idea how I am supposed to handle this. Do I say nothing and ride it out? Am I capable of that, given that what he does to me involves disciplinary meetings with managers (who actually like me) that terrify me because my body language is not always “right” and makes me look like I’m fibbing (apparently)? Or do I go to a manager? I just don’t know.

It’s like he has sniffed out that there is something not quite usual about me and is exploiting it. Power games.

I’m dreading work every day and coming home in tears every night.

 

