I’ve been slightly obsessed with Farmville for a couple of years, like many millions of people. I make no apologies! I love the game. It relaxes me and distracts me. It decompresses me better than nearly anything else. But … this year I began to become bored with it. Whodathunkit?

Suddenly and for no reason I can give you, I decided to learn to crochet. The only problem is that I can’t stand wool. However, I found a blog by a lady who uses other materials to crochet with. My first creation was an awful rug. It’s rubbish but I love it. My second is a denim rug – yes, denim! It’s currently the length of my arm from my fingertips to my elbow but I plan on it being HUGE.

The thing is, crochet is the very last thing I would ever have thought I would be interested in. It’s bizarre. I’ve never been the least craft-y, but here I am crocheting and upcycling all over the place.

It makes my Aspie brain so happy to crochet! The repetition, the pressure of the pulling of the fabric … I don’t know what exactly, but I LOVE to do this now! And not only that, the strangest thing happened: I put my denim crocheted rug to stand on it in certain places in order to flatten out lumps and it was sensory heaven. The material isn’t rough when it’s cut up and crocheted and for some reason the soles of my feet feel like they have been yearning to feel this rug under them my whole life.

So, the moral of the story is: try new things. I thought crochet was for old ladies with lace and wool but now I’m addicted to it for decompression and sensory yumminess!

